Skip to main content

Pistol Permits

The St. Lawrence County Clerk is responsible for accepting pistol permit applications and maintaining the files of pistol permit holders. The County Court Judge is the issuing officer and determines approval, revocation and suspension of permits. 

Answers to frequently asked questions can be found on our Pistol Permit Information sheet. 

Pistol Permit Recertification

For recertification of a pistol/revolver permit please visit the New York State website here for more information. Please note our office will no longer be handing out the paper form as they are no longer accepted by New York State Police. They can also be reached at 1-855-529-4867.

CLICK HERE TO RECERTIFY THROUGH THE NEW YORK STATE POLICE

***September 4, 2022, changes to New York State firearm laws can be viewed on the New York State Police website. ***

Attention: New York State recently adopted new requirements for the purchase and transfer of ownership of semi-automatic rifles and the purchase, possession, storage, and transport of firearms and ammunition in New York. See the Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Recent Changes to New York State Firearm Laws.
For additional detail and further guidance, see Questions and Answers Regarding Impacts to Hunting and Hunting-Related Activities from Recent Changes to New York State Firearm Laws.

Amending a Pistol Permit

Adding Semi-Automatic Endorsement to an Existing Permit: If you wish to add the semi-automatic endorsement to your existing permit, you must fill out this amendment form and send it along with the following items to this office by mail:

1. The original filled out amendment form, review our instructions on how to fill out an amendment form for removing restrictions.
2. A copy of your entire pistol permit (including firearm cards).
3. Payment of $5 - cash or check made out to St. Lawrence County Clerk; and,
4. Your phone number so we can contact you with any questions.

Upon review and acceptance of these documents, a clerk will mail back an updated permit.

**A self-addressed postage paid envelope must be included for the return of the updated permit.

If you have a plastic permit, you are required to dispose of your old permit upon receipt of your new permit.

NOTE: Any person that lawfully possesses a semi-automatic rifle prior to September 4, 2022, will not be required to obtain the Semi-Automatic Rifle License. A Semi-Automatic Rifle License is required to purchase and take possession of a semi-automatic rifle on or after September 4, 2022. Semi-Automatic Rifles do not need to be registered or listed on your permit. 

If you do not have a Pistol/Revolver Permit but would like to apply for the Semi-Automatic Rifle Permit.  You will need to fill out a Pistol/Revolver/Semi-Automatic Rifle Application and submit it for the standard process of a background check and consideration by the licensing officer. You are not required to apply for a Pistol/Revolver License in order to obtain a Semi-Automatic Rifle permit but do have that option. Do not fill out the portions of the Application that pertain to a Carry Concealed Permit unless you wish to apply for one. There is no training requirement for a Semi-Automatic Rifle permit however, applications indicating a desire to apply for both a Carry Concealed and Semi-Automatic Rifle permit must meet all the new requirements in State Law for a Carry Concealed Pistol/Revolver Permit. This process could take 12 months or more.

Removal of Restrictions from an Existing Permits: If you wish to apply for removal of restrictions, you must fill out this amendment form and send it along with the following items to this office by mail:

1. Complete the application to remove restrictions.
2.The original filled out amendment form, review our instructions on how to fill out an amendment form for removing restrictions.
3. A copy of your entire pistol permit (including firearm cards).
4.Payment of $5 - cash or check made out to St. Lawrence County Clerk; and,
5. Your phone number so we can contact you with any questions.

Upon review and acceptance of these documents, a clerk will mail back an updated permit.

**A self-addressed postage paid envelope must be included for the return of the updated permit.

If you have a plastic permit, you are required to dispose of your old permit upon receipt of your new permit.

Transferring a Firearm with a Dealer: When a firearm is sold or purchased from a dealer, you must fill out this amendment form and send it along with the following items to this office by mail.

  1. The original filled out amendment form, review our instructions on how to fill out an amendment form for adding or removing a firearm.
  2. Original or copy of the bill of sale on dealer’s letterhead listing the seller’s name, address, phone number, Federal Firearms License (FFL) number, New York State Dealer License number, and description of the firearm.
  3. A copy of your entire pistol permit (including firearm cards).
  4. Payment of $3 - cash or check made out to St. Lawrence County Clerk; and,
  5. Your phone number so we can contact you with any questions.

Upon review and acceptance of these documents, a clerk will mail back an updated permit and a coupon.

**A self-addressed postage paid envelope must be included for the return of the updated permit and coupon.

If you have a plastic permit, you are required to dispose of your old permit upon receipt of your new permit.

Back to Top

Co-Registering a Firearm:  If you wish to co-register a firearm, you must fill out this amendment form and send it along with the following items to this office by mail.

  1. The original filled out amendment form, review our instructions on how to fill out an amendment form for co-registering a firearm.
  2. Completed Co-Registration Consent form.
  3. A copy of your entire pistol permit (including firearm cards).
  4. Payment of $3 - cash or check made out to St. Lawrence County Clerk; and,
  5. Your phone number so we can contact you with any questions.

Upon review and acceptance of these documents, a clerk will mail back an updated permit.

**A self-addressed postage paid envelope must be included for the return of the updated permit and coupon.

If you have a plastic permit, you are required to dispose of your old permit upon receipt of your new permit.

Back to Top

Adding a Firearm from a Deceased Individual: The person in charge of the estate has fifteen (15) days to sell/transfer the handguns to another pistol permit holder.  After that, the handguns must be surrendered to a police agency; the estate then has two (2) years to dispose of the guns. To put guns on a permit from a deceased person’s permit, the buyer will need a bill of sale form the person in charge of the estate, and possibly documentation from Surrogate Court, a copy of the death certificate, you must fill out this amendment form and send it along with the following items to this office by mail. 

  1. The original filled out amendment form, review our instructions on how to fill out an amendment form for adding a firearm. 
  2.  Original or copy of the bill of sale from the estate.
  3.  A copy of your entire pistol permit (including firearm cards).
  4.  Payment of $3 - cash or check made out to St. Lawrence County Clerk; and,
  5. Your phone number so we can contact you with any questions.

Upon review and acceptance of these documents, a clerk will mail back an updated permit and a coupon.

**A self-addressed postage paid envelope must be included for the return of the updated permit.

If you have a plastic permit, you are required to dispose of your old permit upon receipt of your new permit.

Address Change:  If you wish to change your address, which New York State requires to be completed within 10 days of the change, you must fill out this amendment form and send it along with the following items to this office by mail.

  1. The original filled out amendment form, review our instructions on how to fill out an amendment form for an address change. 
  2.  A copy of your entire pistol permit (including firearm cards).
  3.  Payment of $5 - cash or check made out to St. Lawrence County Clerk; and,
  4.  Your phone number so we can contact you with any questions.

Upon review and acceptance of these documents, a clerk will mail back an updated permit.

**A self-addressed postage paid envelope must be included for the return of the updated permit.

If you have a plastic permit, you are required to dispose of your old permit upon receipt of your new permit.

Back to Top

Name ChangeIf you wish to change your name, which New York State requires to be completed within 10 days of the change, you must come into the office. An updated signature is required for this process. 

If you have a plastic permit, you are required to dispose of your old permit upon receipt of your new permit.

Back to Top

Applying for a Pistol Permit

You may apply for a pistol permit if you are a resident of St. Lawrence County at the time of application. Under New York State Law, you must be 21 years of age to be issued a pistol permit and to purchase a pistol. You are not required to buy or own a firearm and your permit will not expire even if you never place a firearm on it.

Applications are available for $10.00 at our office – 48 Court Street, Canton and can also be purchased at any of our DMV offices.

In order to avoid unnecessary delays in the processing of your application, please read and follow all instructions in the packet carefully and be sure to complete all forms before your appointment. Applicants must appear in-person to turn in their application. The cost to apply for a pistol permit is specified in the application packet.

Back to Top

Transferring a Pistol Permit out of St. Lawrence County
To transfer your pistol permit out of St. Lawrence County, first contact the new county for any restrictions they may have. The Transfer Out Form located below should be completed and then returned to our office either in person or by mail to St. Lawrence County Clerk’s office at 48 Court Street, Canton, NY 13617. A $5 check made payable to the St. Lawrence County Clerk must be included with your Transfer Request form. You may then contact the new County on how to proceed.

Transferring a Pistol Permit into St. Lawrence County
To transfer your pistol permit into St. Lawrence County, please check with your current county for any forms or other information needed to start the process with them. The Transfer in Form located below should be completed and returned to our office.

Lost, Stolen or Replacement Pistol Permit
If your permit was lost, stolen or is too worn to read, you must come into the office for a replacement.  All replacement permits are plastic the total cost is $5. 

Our mailing address is:
St. Lawrence County Clerk's Office
Attn: Pistol Permit Unit
48 Court Street
Canton, NY 13617

Back to Top